A prominent landmark, St. Paul’s is both the Cathedral of the Diocese and the Anglican parish church of Victoria. The original church, dedicated to St. Paul the Apostle and standing on the site of the present Cathedral, was consecrated on 14 May 1859 by the first Bishop of Mauritius, Vincent William Ryan. Over the years, the building has been extended twice, with a new tower in 1910, and with a relocated sanctuary in 1978. In December 1920, St. Paul’s became a Pro-Cathedral, where the Bishop had his second “cathedra” (Bishop’s chair) and the Diocese’s name changed from Mauritius to the Diocese of Mauritius and Seychelles. With space always a constraint and maintenance difficult and costly, it was decided to completely rebuild the structure in 2001. The Cathedral, whose rebulding began in 2001 and which was consecrated on 25th April 2004, now boasts a doubled capacity of 800 and was realised through generous donations from the public and government.