Navigate quickly

Seychelles Islands

Sélectionner la Langue

JoomFish language selector

Votre Séjour

Plan your trip by car/taxiPlan your trip by busPlan your trip by trainPlan your trip by plane

Conseils pratiques

Medical tipsMoney tipsSightseeing tipsFood tips

Climat

19 octobre

Culture

Le Seychellois cosmopolite est un mélange coloré de peuples, de cultures et de religions diverses. A différentes époques de l’histoire, des Africains, des Européens et des asiatiques sont venus aux Seychelles, apportant avec eux, leurs traditions et leurs coutumes, qui contribuèrent au dynamisme du mode de vie et au charme de la culture seychelloise.

On peut constater ces influences dans des domaines, tels que l'art, la cuisine, la musique, la danse et l'architecture.  La conception architecturale de certaines anciennes et vastes bâtisses en bois, avec leurs toits pentus, est représentative d'un modèle adapté pour une vie tropique confortable et démontre l’influence française et l’héritage colonial britannique.  L'architecture moderne essaye de concilier le style traditionnel et les besoins pratiques tels que des ouvertures nombreuses dans les maisons, pour profiter des brises insulaires.

Au travers de leurs multiples créations, les artistes locaux continuent à rendre hommage au contexte multi ethnique de leurs Îles, qui constitue l’héritage des diverses influences qui les ont nourries.  La musique et la danse créoles ont des origines africaines, malgaches et européennes, avec des rythmes traditionnels accompagnés de tambours et d’instruments à cordes, aujourd’hui agrémentés de violon et de guitare.

Il y a plusieurs sortes de danses traditionnelles aux Seychelles, la plus populaire, le Sega, est une danse régionale de balancement des hanches, la Moutia, une danse érotique originaire des esclaves africains d’antan et le Kanmtole, une danse classique de l’héritage européen, rappelant le quadrille écossais ou la contredanse française.

Architecture

Architecture

L´Art

L´Art

Cuisine et Recettes

Cuisine et Recettes

Folklore

Folklore

Navigate quickly

Seychelles Islands

Select Language

JoomFish language selector

Plan your trip

Plan your trip by car/taxiPlan your trip by busPlan your trip by trainPlan your trip by plane

Useful tips

Medical tipsMoney tipsSightseeing tipsFood tips

Patchy rain nearby Weather

28°C
28°C
22 December

Culture

The cosmopolitan Seychellois are a colourful blend of peoples of different races, cultures and religions.  At different times in its history, people of African, European and Asian origin have come to Seychelles, bringing with them their distinct traditions and customs and contributing to the way of life and to the vibrant Seychellois culture.

One can see these influences at work throughout the domains of local art, cuisine, music, dance and architecture.

The architectural design of some of the grand old houses with their steep roofs are representative of a style adapted for comfortable living in the tropics that displays influences from Seychelles’ French and British colonial heritage. Modern architecture attempts to assimilate traditional styles with practical features designed to capture the island breezes.

Local artists continue to exhibit diverse styles that echo the multi-ethnic backdrop of the islands and bear testament to the various influences which have come to bear.  Creole music and dance have their roots in African, Malagasy and European cultures with rhythms traditionally accompanied by simple drums and string instruments which, today, include such recent imports as the violin and guitar.

The traditional moutya is an erotic dance derived from the days of slavery and still features today, together with the sega with its colourful lyrics; the kanmtole, reminiscent of a country reel, and the Kontredanse, an import from the French court.

 

Architecture

Architecture

Art

Art

Cuisine & Recipes

Cuisine & Recipes

Folklore

Folklore