Navigate quickly

Seychelles Islands

Sprache auswählen

JoomFish language selector

Planen Sie Ihren Besuch

Plan your trip by car/taxiPlan your trip by busPlan your trip by trainPlan your trip by plane

Nützliche Tipps

Medical tipsMoney tipsSightseeing tipsFood tips

Wetter

16. Dezember

Kultur

Die kosmopolitischen Seychellois sind eine interessante Mischung von Völkern verschiedener Rassen, Kulturen und Religionen.  Die Geschichte der Seychellen ist geprägt durch die Traditionen und Bräuche von Menschen afrikanischer, europäischer und asiatischer Herkunft.  Sie alle trugen so zum heutigen quirligen Lebensstil und der Kultur der Seychellois bei.

Man kann diese Einflüsse deutlich in den Bereichen der hiesigen Kunst, Küche, Musik, Tanz und Architektur erkennen.

Die Architektur der alten Häuser mit ihren steilen Dächern spiegelt einen für die Tropen typischen Baustil für angenehmes Wohnen wieder.  Hier finden sich Elemente der französischen und britischen Kolonialzeit. Die Moderne Architektur verbindet den traditionellen Stil mit praktischen Elementen, um so die frische Meeresbrise der Inseln einzufangen.

Einheimische Künstler entfalten diverse Stile, welche den multiethnischen Hintergrund der Inseln widerspiegeln und Zeugnis ablegen über die vielen Einflüsse die hier ihre Spuren hinterlassen haben.  Kreolische Musik und Tänze haben ihre Wurzeln in afrikanischen, madagassischen und europäischen Kulturen.  Die traditionellen Rhythmen werden durch einfache Trommeln und Streichinstrumente, wozu auch die neueren Importe wie Violine und Gitarre zählen, begleitet.

Der traditionelle Moutya ist ein erotischer Tanz, dessen Ursprung aus Zeiten der Sklaverei stammt, ebenso wie der Sega mit seinen anschaulichen Texten, der Kanmtole, der an einen Country-Reel erinnert, und der Kontredanse vom französischen Hof.

Architektur

Architektur

Kunst

Kunst

Küche & Rezepte

Küche & Rezepte

Folklore

Folklore

Navigate quickly

Seychelles Islands

Select Language

JoomFish language selector

Plan your trip

Plan your trip by car/taxiPlan your trip by busPlan your trip by trainPlan your trip by plane

Useful tips

Medical tipsMoney tipsSightseeing tipsFood tips

Patchy rain nearby Weather

28°C
28°C
22 December

Culture

The cosmopolitan Seychellois are a colourful blend of peoples of different races, cultures and religions.  At different times in its history, people of African, European and Asian origin have come to Seychelles, bringing with them their distinct traditions and customs and contributing to the way of life and to the vibrant Seychellois culture.

One can see these influences at work throughout the domains of local art, cuisine, music, dance and architecture.

The architectural design of some of the grand old houses with their steep roofs are representative of a style adapted for comfortable living in the tropics that displays influences from Seychelles’ French and British colonial heritage. Modern architecture attempts to assimilate traditional styles with practical features designed to capture the island breezes.

Local artists continue to exhibit diverse styles that echo the multi-ethnic backdrop of the islands and bear testament to the various influences which have come to bear.  Creole music and dance have their roots in African, Malagasy and European cultures with rhythms traditionally accompanied by simple drums and string instruments which, today, include such recent imports as the violin and guitar.

The traditional moutya is an erotic dance derived from the days of slavery and still features today, together with the sega with its colourful lyrics; the kanmtole, reminiscent of a country reel, and the Kontredanse, an import from the French court.

 

Architecture

Architecture

Art

Art

Cuisine & Recipes

Cuisine & Recipes

Folklore

Folklore